Mind the gap…

Posted: March 4, 2012 in A little about me, Fear
Tags: , ,

Yesterday I had to travel through London going from the train to a coach and then back again later in the day. The second journey was reminiscent of the Japanese metro where they have to employ people to push people into the carriages so that the trains can still run. As there were lots of engineering works going on, and it was early evening,my return journey was busy.

I like my personal space. Just putting it out there. In fact I really don’t like being touched unless I know and like the person, and even then if i’m particularly tense it doesn’t really work and I try to move away from them. So, crowded tube is a form of nightmare.

First I was crushed against the couple engaged in the romantic pash. What a way to feel like a third wheel. Then there were the people who just pushed me around everywhere. Then someone else was completely unaware that everytime they turned round, their bag was getting me in the face.

And it was at that point that I realised that I was moving away from these people in advance of their getting anywhere near me. I don’t really even know what I was afraid of, apart from the possible lack of deodrant. I’m just glad that I don’t live in London and have to do that all the time.

Leave a Reply

